Liebster Award Nomination Questions!

August 18, 2012 § 1 Comment

Hey people! First of all, I’d like to thank wantoncreation at wantoncreation.wordpress.com for this oh-so-kind nomination. The Liebster Award is given only to new/somewhat new blogs, and I think it’s a great idea to recognize blogging newbies and help bring them into the blogosphere. Wantoncreation has posed 11 questions to the 11 nominated blogs and without further ado, here are my responses!

1. What’s your favorite word in the English language?

This is hard. I know my least favorites-moist (can’t say it without shuddering) and tummy (my tongue just rejects this word. Try saying it and see what your tongue does. It’s weird.) This might be lame, but I really like the word “hippopotamus.” Nothing poetic, it just sounds cool. I have deep respect for whoever initially came up with its spelling.

2. What are you listening to as you write the answer to this question (if not music, what sounds)?

My mother frying bacon, my sister singing a song I don’t recognize in the shower, my dog poking at a jingly toy, my fingers dashing across keys.

3. What was the last thing you ate that you really, really enjoyed?

While out to breakfast with my best friend, I took a bite of her egg, cheese, and avocado sandwich. It had to be the freshest avocado I’ve ever tasted. I’ve jumped on the avocado bandwagon lately. I am seriously eating homemade guacamole every other day.

4. You’re at a job interview, and the interviewer asks you to make them laugh. What do you do or say?

Well, I probably wouldn’t get the job, but I’m sort of known for my love of corny jokes. I think they are way under appreciated (you have to be a little clever to think up some of those punch lines!) So I’d probably use one of my old stand-bys:

There’s a guy and a girl melon, and they’ve been dating for a long time. The guy melon says, We should get married! And the girl melon says, We’re too young! We can’t elope!

Get it? Can’t elope? Cantaloupe? Anyway, I’m sure the interviewer would tell me that there just wasn’t a place for me at the moment, but that they’ll keep me on the list.

5. The world is about to blow up, but you’re being saved, and are allowed to take five things to another planet (aside from the clothes you are currently wearing), where you and only 999 other people will now exist (ignore the bleakness of this question). What do you take?

My baby blanket, my grandmother’s necklace, a good book (who knows what kind of literary material this planet has?), and obviously, a notebook and pen.

6. What’s your favourite drink to consume first thing in the morning?

Herbal tea with honey. This morning I had lemon ginger, but yesterday it was something weird like “orange leaf,” so I like to keep it interesting. I honestly think everybody should start their morning with a good cup of herbal tea. It’s one of those centering activities that has the same effect as a deep breath; you remember you’re strong enough to tackle this day and make it your own.

7. What was the last book to make you cry?

Now, here’s the thing. I’m not really a crier when it comes to books/movies/media. But I do feel strongly in response to a powerful piece of work, and by that I mean I feel like I carry the weight of it for a good amount of time (maybe forever, depending on how moving the piece was!) The last book to really move me was probably The Book Thief. I really did almost cry at the end of that one. Not only because of the subject matter, but also because of how beautifully executed the writing was.

8. What’s the most ridiculous or silliest way you’ve been injured?

Oh, goodness. I’ve never actually broken a bone, even though I’ve had a host of health problems, so this is hard. In sixth grade I was leaning my pencil on my leg under my desk, and when I jumped up to go to lunch it absolutely pierced me. I still have the graphite tip in my thigh! No one even tried to get it out, it was quite the gory sight.

9. What’s your favourite city in the world? Why?

Any cities, all cities. I really mean that. When it comes down to it, for me, cities are the same. You’ll find the same people moving in droves, ignoring traffic signals, jabbering important things on important electronic devices. You’ll find the same littered train stations, the same vibrating feeling in the air that things are happening. There will be different historical sights, different curse words, maybe less litter if you’re in Europe. But the feel is essentially the same. But okay, here are some: Boston (the grittiness, the we-are-who-we-are-and-we-don’t-care-what-you-think pride), Washington, DC (the we’re-changing-the-world-right-here-right-now) and London (so-much-has-happened-here.)

10. What’s the most embarrassing album in your music collection? (Be honest)

I own all three of Demi Lovato’s albums! (Hey, the girl has pipes! And an inspiring story, so I’m not that embarrassed.)

11. To borrow an old line from a Crowded House song, would you rather a mansion in the slums or a caravan in the hills (i.e. a nice house in a not nice area, or a tiny living space but with views)?

Absolutely a caravan in the hills! I don’t need a lot of living space in terms of a place to rest my head, but I need a lot of living space in terms of where I’m doing, you know, my living.

This was a lot of fun! Thanks again wantoncreation! As always, it means a lot that people are listening.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Liebster Award Nomination Questions!

  • Loved your answers. The word ‘moist’ always makes me giggle, and a makes a fellow teacher at the school I work at laugh uncontrollably…so much so that one day last year, another teacher bought him a box of “Super Moist Chocolate Cake”, and just walked in during one of his lessons and put it on his desk and walked back out as he heard him begin to laugh. So mean but so funny.
    I love your answer for 4 – so lame but I did laugh! I remember once on a job application they asked “any special talents unrelated to the job” and I listed a few serious ones before writing “I can make fart sounds with my eyes and ears”…needless to say, I ended up being interviewed not by the local boss, but by the CEO of the company. And he asked for a demonstration. Hahahaha.
    And I definitely agree with The Book Thief…a wonderful book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Liebster Award Nomination Questions! at thesecretmermaid.

meta

